Perth Ratepayers Voted For Change

Perth CBD ratepayers have voted in two new councilors in one of the most competitive local government election Western Australia has ever seen.

Deputy Mayor James Limnios and counillor Reece Harley have retained their seats, while new counillors Lexi Barton and Steve Hasluck was voted in.

Veteran counilor Judy McEvoy and councilor Keith Yong have lost their seats following last night’s vote count.

Mr Limnios managed to secure 2009 votes, Mr Harley 2056 votes, Ms Barton 1989 votes, and Steve Hasluck received the biggest support with 2209 votes.

Meanwhile, former Liberal MP and Parliament Speaker Michael Sutherland only received 1267 votes.

During an interview with WAMN News, both Deputy Mayor Limnios and councilor Harley believe the result is a sign of change.

“I think the message from the community has been very clear, that we need to get our house in order at the City Of Perth,” Mr Harley said.

“People have been very unhappy on what’s going on over the last few years, and we really need to meet better community standards.”

Meanwhile, councilor candidate Scott O’Keeffe have lost the election, he says he will continue to work hard to unite the council and State Government to resolve Perth’s homeless issues.

Tagged under

Ivan Leung began his media adventure in 2007 with DHK News Chinese, he worked as a journalist and the senior newsreader in Hong Kong. In 2009, he becomes the DHK English News Executive Producer and the Chief Newsreader in-charging a 20 people news team in HK and Perth, presenting "Evening News" together with Ana Godden. Ivan becomes WAMN's Editor-in-chief after resigned from DMHK due to personal reasons. Ivan can speak fluent Cantonese, Mandarin and English.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *